The big secret

The other morning, someone who was browsing magazines at the library came up to me and asked: “What’s your secret?” I had no idea what he meant, so he rephrased the question: “What is it that makes you so happy every time I see you? I always feel good when I leave here because the staff are so pleasant.” At this I was pleased but more than a little baffled – after all it was Monday morning, and I couldn’t imagine sending out that many happy vibes on a Monday.

I shrugged and didn’t give an answer of any substance, but now that I think about it, I could have mentioned all of the time I spend outdoors. For instance, just walking the dogs every morning does a lot of good – for both my mood and my knee!

The nights are getting cooler here, which means that there’s a crispness in the air first thing in the morning. But as soon as the sun comes up, there’s still that green summer-y warmth.

IMG_3491

Besides just being invigorating, walking in the morning lets me stretch out and evaluate if there are any tight spots or muscle knots that need to be addressed. I can think about my posture, open up, and undo some of the hip tightness I inevitably get from sitting behind the reference desk all day.  And, of course, the dogs love it.

IMG_3516

I wouldn’t label myself a “morning person”, but walking through the world as it wakes up is a pretty good way to start the day. In the spring and early summer, the birds were constantly singing, and I got lots of identification practice using the Cornell Ornithology Lab’s Merlin Bird ID app.

IMG_3522

So that’s my secret to happiness. You can stop by the reference desk to take in some happy aura, or you can take a cute puppy (or two) for a walk and make their day as well!

Leave a Reply

